Welcome to the Commission on Qualified Immunity

This website is managed by the staff members of the Joint Committee on the Judiciary. For more information about the committee, please visit  https://malegislature.gov/Committees/Detail/J19/192

The Special Commission on Qualified Immunity has completed its deliberations and submitted its final report and recommendations. You can view the full report here:

Latest from the Commission

Special Commission on Qualified Immunity Meeting Agenda

Friday, December 10, 2021, 11:00AM (virtual meeting)  Agenda:  Introduction/Roll Call Approval of Minutes from 11.12.21 Meeting Review of Statutory Charge Continued Discussion of Possible Report Recommendations Discussion of Draft Report Schedule Next Meeting    Commissioners Present:  Chair Day Chair Eldridge Leader Peake Chairman Straus Senator Creem Senator Tarr – Represented by Harak Shah Representative Xiarhos Commissioner Reddy Commissioner Ryan Commissioner Segal Commissioner DeRensis Commissioner Sweeney  Commissioners Absent:  Senator Cyr Commissioner Espinoza-Madrigal  Chair Eldridge called the meeting to order and gave…

Special Commission on Qualified Immunity

Friday, August 20, 2021, at 11:00 A.M. (virtual meeting) Commissioner Present: Chairman EldridgeChairman DayCommissioner PeakeCommissioner StrausCommissioner CreemCommissioner XiarhosCommissioner RyanCommissioner SegalCommissioner DeRensisCommissioner Espinoza-MadrigalCommissioner Sweeney Commissioners Absent: Commissioner Cyr – Liz Ganz attended on behalfCommissioner TarrCommissioner Reddy Chair Eldridge called the meeting to order, and he and Chair Day gave introductory remarks. Chair Day moved to accept…

Special Commission on Qualified Immunity

Friday, July 16, 2021, at 11 AM (virtual meeting) Commissioner Present: Chairman DayChairman EldridgeLeader PeakeChairman StrausSenator CyrSenator CreemRepresentative XiarhosCommissioner ReddyCommissioner RyanCommissioner SegalCommissioner DeRensisCommissioner Sweeney Commissioners Absent: Senator Tarr – Hirak Shah attended as a proxyCommissioner Espinoza-Madrigal Chair Day called the meeting to order. Commissioner DeRensis moved to accept minutes circulated for the June 4, 2021,…